What does courage mean to you?


              Courage Quotes For Kids 007 Courage Quotes For Kids 007   

    Courage is a funny thing, defined only by you!  For some, the above quote was a hell no situation. They would have no part of it; the fear engulfed them and robbed them of the accomplishment.  I look at the above and see many childhood memories.  Standing at the top of a hill looking down, ready to crap my pants but knowing if I get a scrape it will be totally worth it just to make it to the bottom (not to mention the bragging rights).  I think it is safe to say we all have bowed out due to fear at one time or another.    

    How do you decide when is the time to cave in or kick fears butt?  Just like the quote says, when “fuck this shit” is bigger than “I have a bad feeling about this.”  When the desired goal is bigger than the what if’s, it is time to conquer!  For me, it was starting my own company.  I could have easily let fear take me over.  I am the bread winner in my family.  I am the one that takes on the responsibility of paying all our bills, blah blah blah.  The risk of not having a full time job was huge, but I knew I could and had to start my own company.  There have been times that I have had moments of weakness and started looking for salaried positions, but something always came up and stopped me.  I have turned positions away because, this is more important to me than the easy road.  That is how I define courage!  Some may call it loony?  It means nothing what other’s define courage as.  The only person that can say if it was courageous is you. 

Checklist when to kick fear’s butt:

  1. If you can’t shake the desire to accomplish said goal
  2. Refer to #1.

Checklist when to give into fear:

  1. You will die if you go through with it.

What have you done that has taken true courage?  What did you give up?  What did you gain?

Thank you,

Debbie Dickerson

Trifecta Executive Placement and Coaching

936-244-0615

ddickerson@trifectaexecutiveplacementandcoaching.com

   

    

3 thoughts on “What does courage mean to you?

  1. Pingback: You Need Courage Within To Pursue and Win Your DreamThe Career Publications | The Career Publications

  2. Debbie.
    Kind of timely and can apply to all of us.
    I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.
    Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

